Government of West Bengal Finance Department Audit Branch

No. 9938-F(P)

Kolkata, the 4th November, 2009.

NOTIFICATION

In exercise of the power conferred by the explanation to Section 25 of the Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881 (XXVI of 1881), read with Government of India, Ministry of Home Affairs, Notification No. 20/25/56-Pub(I) dated the 8th June, 1957, the Governor is pleased to declare the following days to be public holidays during the year 2010:-

Shree Panchami : 20th January, Wednesday

**Netaji's Birthday : 23rd January, Saturday

Republic Day : 26th January, Tuesday

Good Friday : 2nd April, Friday

Bengali New year's Day : 15th April, Thursday

**May Day : 1st May, Saturday

**Id III Fitters : 11th September, September

**Id-Ul-Fitre : 11th September, Saturday **Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday : 2nd October, Saturday Mahalaya : 7th October, Thursday

Durga Puja:

14th October, Thursday Saptami 15th October, Friday Astami 16th October, Saturday ** Nabami 22nd October, Friday Laxmi Puja 5th November, Friday Kali Puja 17th November, Wednesday Id-Uz-zoha 17th December, Friday Muharram 25th December, Saturday **Christmas Day

NOTES:

- (1) Sundays are holidays under the Negotiable Instruments Act.
- (2) In the year 2010, the following festivals / occasions fall on Sundays which are Public Holidays under N.I.Act and hence have not been included in the list of holidays:

i) Doljatra : 28th February ii) Independence Day : 15th August iii) Dashami of Durga Puja : 17th October

iv)Guru Nanak's Birthday &

Parswanath's Rathajatra : 21st November

- (3) The holiday with double asterisk mark i.e.(**) is applicable to those Government offices only where Saturdays are not observed as full holidays
- (4) General instructions laid down below Notification No. 9941-F dated 4th November, 2009 enclosed herewith are to be followed in case of Muslim festivals.

No. 9939-F(P)

Kolkata, the 4th November, 2009.

In exercise of the power conferred by the explanation to section 25 of the Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881 (XXVI of 1881) read with Government of India, Ministry of Home Affairs, Notification No. 20/25/56-Pub(I) dated the 8th June, 1957, the Governor is pleased to declare the following days to be public holidays during the year 2010:-

1. Yearly closing of Bank's Account : 1st April, Wednesday

2. Half-yearly closing of Bank's Account 30th September, Wednesday

 $\underline{\text{NOTE}}$: All the State Government Offices including Treasuries & Sub-Treasuries shall remain open on the 1st April & 30^{th} September, 2010, which have been declared as Public Holidays under N.I. Act, under this Notification.

No.9940-F(P)

Kolkata, the 4th November, 2009.

The Governor is pleased to notify that on the following days during the year 2010, which are not declared to be Public Holidays, the offices under the Government of West Bengal, with the exception of the offices of the Registrar of Assurances, Kolkata and Collector of the Stamp Revenue, Kolkata, shall be closed:-

Fatah-Duaz-Daham : 27th February, Saturday

** Birthday of Rabindra Nath Tagore : 9th May, Saturday

Birthday of poet Bhanu Bhakt : 13th July, Tuesday

(For Darjeeling District only)

Janmathami : 1st September, Wednesday Ekadasi of Durga Puja : 18th October, Monday

NOTE:

- (1) In the year 2010, Birthday of Rabindra Nath Tagore (9th May) Bhatridwitya (7th November), fall on Sundays which are public Holidays under N.I. Act and as such the days not been included in the above list.
- (2) The holiday with double asterix mark(**) is applicable to those Government Offices only where Saturday is not observed as full holiday.

No. 9941-F(P)

Kolkata, the 4th November, 2009.

The Governor is pleased to declare that the following days may be observed as Sectional Holidays in the year 2010 for the employees of different communities mentioned against each:

** Easter Saturday : 3rd April, Saturday (for Christians Only)

Baisakhi : 14th April, Wednesday (for Sikhs only)

Buddha Purnima : 27th May, Thursday (for Buddhists only)

Sab-e-Barat : 28th July, Wednesday (for Muslims only)

NOTE:

(1) Since 'Mahabir Jayanti (for Jains only) falls on 28th March which is a Sunday and a Public Holiday under N.I.Act. So, the day has not been included here.

(2) The holiday with double asterisk mark (**) is applicable to those Government Offices only where Saturday is not observed as full holiday.

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS TO BE FOLLOWED IN ALL TYPES OF HOLIDAYS INCLUDING HOLIDAYS FOR THE MUSLIM FESTIVALS

- 1) No substitute holiday should be allowed if any of the festival-holidays initially notified subsequently happens to fall on a weekly off or any other non-working day or in the event of more than one festival falling on the same day.
- 2) If there is any change in the date of ID-UL-Fitre, ID-UZ-Zoha, Muharram, Fateh-Duaz-Daham, Sab-e-Barat depending upon the sighting of the Moon, holiday will be declared by a separate order for the date on which the festival would be actually observed in lieu of the date originally notified as holiday for this festival.
- 3) It may happen that the change of the date of the above occasions has to be notified at a very short notice.

In such situation, announcement would be made through T.V. / A.I.R. / Newspaper and the Head of Department / Offices of the State Government may take action according to such announcement without waiting for a formal order, about the change of date.

By order of the Governor,

Sd/- B. Lahiri
O.S.D. & E.O. Deputy Secretary to the
Government of West Bengal
Finance Department

No. 9938/1(500)-F(P)

Kolkata, the 4th November, 2009.

	Copy forwarded for information and necessary action to :-
1.	
2.	The Principal Accountant General (A&E), West Bengal, Treasury Buildings, Kolkata –1.
3.	The Pay & Accounts Officer, Kolkata Pay & Accounts Office-I, 81/2/2, Phears Lane, Kolkata-700 012.
4.	The pay & Accounts Officer, Kolkata Pay & A/cs Office-II, P-1, Hyde Lane, Jawahar Buildings, Kolkata –700 073.
5.	The Accounts Officer, West Bengal Sectt. Writers' Buildings, Kolkata- 700 001.
6.	The Accounts Officer, West Bengal Sectt., Bikash Bhawan, Salt Lake, Kolkata-700 091
7.	The Sub-Divisional Officer,
8.	The Dist. Magistrate/Judge,
9.	The Treasury Officer,
10.	The
11.	The Commissioner,
12.	The Supdt. of Police,
13.	The Principal, Industrial Training Institute,
14.	The Supdtg. Engineer/Ex. Engineer,
15.	The

It is requested that this Memo. may be circulated to all offices under their control.

Sd/- B. lahiri
O.S.D. & E.O. Deputy Secretary to the
Government of West Bengal
Finance Department