Government Of West Bengal Finance Department, Audit Branch "NABANNA" 325 Sarat Chatterjee Road, Howrah – 711 102

No. : 4891-F(P2)

Dated, Howrah, the 18th August, 2023.

MEMORANDUM

In view of bye-election to 15-Dhupguri(SC) Assembly Constituency to be held on **5th September, 2023[TUESDAY**] in terms of Press Note No. ECI/PN/47/2023, dated 08.08.2023 of the Election Commission of India, the said day of poll i.e. 5th September, 2023(TUESDAY] is hereby declared as a public holiday under section 25 of the Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881 for the Government offices, Organisations, Undertakings, Corporation, Boards, Statutory and Local Bodies, Educational Institutions situated within the extent of the aforementioned Assembly Constituency.

2) Labour Department will issue suitable instructions to shops, commercial and industrial establishments to declare the said date of poll as paid holiday for the workers of the concerned Assembly Constituency to enable them to exercise their franchise in the election.

3) In case of an employee working outside his concerned Assembly Constituency and where the date of Poll has not been declared as holiday in his place of work, he/she shall be permitted to cast his/her vote by way of allowing special leave on that date.

4) In case of re-poll, the employees/workers shall be allowed to cast their votes on the date of re-poll also in the manner as stated in Pare-2 and 3 above.

5) Local holiday may be declared by Competent Authority for the Educational Institutions/Government Offices/Statutory and Local Bodies etc. situated within the aforesaid Assembly Constituency which will be used as Polling Stations/Sector Office/Distribution-cum-Receiving Centre or for any other election related purpose for smooth conduct of polls on the day before the date of poll i.e. 4th September, 2023 [MONDAY].

Sd/- S.Barman Secretary to the Government of West Bengal

No. : 4891/1[300]-F(P2)

Dated, Howrah the 18th August, 2023.

Copy forwarded for information and necessary action to :-

01. The Principal Accountant General [A&E], West Bengal, Treasury Buildings, Kolkata-1.

02. The Additional Chief Secretary/Principal Secretary/Secretary,

Department.

03. The Principal Secretary to the Hon'ble Chief Minister, West Bengal.

04. The Additional Chief Secretary, Labour Department.

- 05. The Chief Electoral Officer, West Bengal.
- 06. The DG & IG of Police, West Bengal.

07. The Divisional Commissioner, _____ Division.

08. The District Magistrate/District Judge/Superintendent of Police, _____

09. The Sub-Divisional Officer, _____

10. The Pay & Accounts Officer, Kolkata Pay & Accounts Office-I/II/III.

11. The Deputy Secretary, Finance Department, Accounts Branch, Nabanna, Mandirtala, Howrah – 711 102.

12. The Treasury Officer_

- 13. The Senior Personal Secretary to the Chief Secretary, Government of West Bengal.
- 14. The Senior P.A. to HMOS (IC) of this Department.
- 15. The Chief of News Bureau, Directorate of Information, Government of West Bengal.

16. Shri Sumit Mitra, Network Administrator, Finance Department.

■ For uploading this Memorandum in the Finance Department website. 17.0ffice Copy.

Joint Secretary to the Government of West Bengal

\Prasad:\Folder 2023\Election\Doc- 4891