

GOVERNMENT OF WEST BENGAL FINANCE DEPARTMENT BUDGET BRANCH NABANNA

No.1196-FB

Howrah, the 17th December, 2024

Notification

In exercise of the power conferred by Articles 243-I, 243-Y of the Constitution of India, read with the provisions of the West Bengal Finance Commission (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act, 2011 (West Bengal Act XIII of 2011), the Governor is pleased to constitute the 6th State Finance Commission, West Bengal (hereinafter referred to as the Commission) with the following as its Chairman and Members:-

1.	Dr. H.K. Dwivedi, IAS (Retd.)	Chairman
2.	Smt. Barnali Biswas, IAS (Retd.)	Member
3.	Shri Ashis Chakraborty, WBCS (Exe.), (Retd.)	Member
4.	Smt. Ruma Mukherjee, Bank Professional	Member
5.	Dr. Ajay Bhattacharya, IAS (Retd.)	Member-Secretary

- 2. The Chairman and the other members of the Commission shall hold office for two years from the date on which they assume office.
- 3. The Commission shall review the financial position of the Panchayats and make recommendations to the Governor as to -
- (a) the principles which should govern –
- (i) the distribution between the State and the Panchayats of the net proceeds of the taxes, duties, tolls and fees leviable by the State, which may be divided between them under Part IX of the Constitution of India and the allocation between the Panchayats at all levels of their respective shares of such proceeds;
- (ii) the determination of the taxes, duties, tolls and fees which may be assigned to, or appropriated by the Panchayats;
- (iii) the grants-in-aid to the Panchayats from the Consolidated Fund of the State;
- (b) the measures needed to improve the financial position of the Panchayats;

- 4. The Commission shall also review the financial position of the Municipalities and make recommendations to the Governor as to –
- (a) the principles which should govern-
- (i) The distribution between the State and the Municipalities of the net proceeds of the taxes, duties, tolls and fees leviable by the State, which may be divided between them under Part IXA of the Constitution of India and the allocation between the Municipalities at all levels of their respective shares of such proceeds;
- (ii) The determination of the taxes, duties, tolls and fees which may be assigned to, or appropriated by the Municipalities;
- (iii) the grants-in-aid to the Municipalities from the Consolidated Fund of the State;
- (b) the measures needed to improve the financial position of the Municipalities;
- 5. In making recommendations, the Commission shall have regard, among other considerations, to -
- (i) the resources of the State Government and the demands thereon on account of expenditure on administration, development and debt-servicing;
- (ii) the resource-raising powers of the Panchayats and Municipalities;
- (iii) the responsibilities entrusted upon the Panchayats and Municipalities by Statutes and Government Orders;
- (iv) awards given by the Central Finance Commission to the local bodies;
- (v) grants given by the State Government to the local bodies beyond the recommendation of the State Finance Commission and the Central Finance Commission.
- 6. The Commission shall determine its own procedure.
- 7. The Commission shall make its preliminary report available preferably within 6 (six) months from the date of assumption of this office covering a period of 5 (five) years commencing on the 1st day of April, 2025.

By order of the Governor,

(P.K. Mishra)
Additional Chief Secretary
to the Government of West Bengal

Copy forwarded for information and necessary action to:

- 1) Dr. H.K. Dwivedi, IAS (Retd.), NABANNA, 12th Floor, Room No. 1212-A.
- 2) Smt. Barnali Biswas, IAS (Retd.), Flat 1B, Ankan, Plot DA 93, Action Area 1, New Town, Kolkata 700 156.
- 3) Shri Ashis Chakraborty, WBCS (Exe.), (Retd.), Flat No.2, Building No. 4, Block HB, Sector III, Salt Lake City, Kolkata 700 106.
- 4) Smt. Ruma Mukherjee, 41, Broad Street, Ballygunge, Kolkata 700 019.
- 5) Dr. Ajay Bhattacharya, IAS (Retd.), Flat No. 10B, DC 198, Ck market chsl. Action Area I, Newtown, Kolkata 700 156.
- 6) Smt. Debjani Dutta, IAS, Special Commissioner, Group P1 & P2, Finance Department, NABANNA, 12th Floor, Room No. 1203.
- 7) Shri Sujoy Acharya, Additional Secretary, Group-H, Finance Department, NABANNA, 12th Floor, Room No. 1206.
- 8) Shri Sumit Mitra, Network Administrator, Finance Department, for uploading the Notification in the Finance Department's Website.

Special Secretary to the Government of West Bengal